Unexpected results with jojoba

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarnieSoapien

Reaction score
I've been trying out some new recipes lately. Yesterday I made a small batch using jojoba, which I've never used before. Things seemed pretty normal. I mixed my lye/water, measured and melted my oils, blended to a thin trace and I added about 15 grams of Citrus Burst FO by Gracefruit and hand mixed the FO in. The FO did accelerate my batch a bit. It seemed a little lumpy when I poured it into the mold.

I covered the mold and left it in a room for 24 hours. When I went to check on it today, I noticed lighter patches in the soap, that looked almost like glycerine. What do you think this is from? Should I have mixed the batter longer?

Thanks for any feedback!

Attachments

• IMG_20180917_145530.jpg
    IMG_20180917_145530.jpg
    26.9 KB · Views: 32
  • Jojoba Test Soap.pdf
    77.8 KB · Views: 6
I noticed lighter patches in the soap, that looked almost like glycerine. What do you think this is from?
It is glycerine, a product of saponification. When you make soap, you are making glycerol (glycerin, glycerine) as well.
oil + NaOH = Gly(OH)3 + 3 soap
For every three molecules of soap that you make, you are making one molecule of glycerin (propane-1,2,3-triol).

It is glycerine, a product of saponification. When you make soap, you are making glycerol (glycerin, glycerine) as well.
oil + NaOH = Gly(OH)3 + 3 soap
Ok . And what would you recommend if I wanted to avoid the glycerol patches?