Tripled Oils, Tripled Lye, forgot to triple mixing space

Soapmaking Forum - Soap & Candle Forums

Help Support Soapmaking Forum - Soap & Candle Forums:

Salty

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
New York
Halp! I made a bigger batch of soap than usual and didn't account for the extra space needed in my mixing bowl. So when I poured the oils in and then began adding the lye solution, I ran out of room in the bowl. In an effort to save my soap, I poured some of the already mixed oil and lye into another bowl, added the rest of the lye solution, and then tried to mix the two soap/lye mixtures together by pouring a cup of one bowl into the other, mixing it around, then pouring a cup of that back into the other mixture. I was hoping they would get more evenly split. :oops: Any ideas if the soap will still saponify correctly?
 

Rsapienza

Supporting Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2017
Messages
311
Reaction score
503
Location
Florida
Halp! I made a bigger batch of soap than usual and didn't account for the extra space needed in my mixing bowl. So when I poured the oils in and then began adding the lye solution, I ran out of room in the bowl. In an effort to save my soap, I poured some of the already mixed oil and lye into another bowl, added the rest of the lye solution, and then tried to mix the two soap/lye mixtures together by pouring a cup of one bowl into the other, mixing it around, then pouring a cup of that back into the other mixture. I was hoping they would get more evenly split. :oops: Any ideas if the soap will still saponify correctly?
I did something similar once and it ended up okay.
 

Lin19687

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
4,127
Reaction score
2,534
Location
not for FB to know
I think we all have done this in the too at some point.

Just make sure you run the recipe through a Soap Calculator instead of just doubling or tripling it.

I use a big pail that is 4x too big then my recipe (a larger recipe too) so I don't make that mistake again.

Live and learn, sometimes that is just the best way to do it.
 

DeeAnna

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2013
Messages
13,569
Reaction score
19,709
Location
USA
I would agree with the others. As long as the soap got reasonably well mixed (however awkward I imagine it was to do that!), it should be fine.
 

Salty

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
New York
Wow, thank you all so much! I feel so much better, and appreciate all the feedback. I'm breathing a little easier now, and am very excited to unmold.
 

cmzaha

Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2011
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
11,830
Location
Southern California
Next time check how much liquid your container will hold then check the total batch weight of your recipe including all liquids and additives. You will then know if your container will hold your batch of soap batter
 
Top