Totally off-topic - Does anyone use Steam or Steam Workshop?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

earlene

Grandmother & Soaper
Supporting Member
Reaction score
If so, what is your experience? It's for developing games, gaming discussion, etc.

I also sent a query to my granddaughter, who has been designing & selling avatar accessories (for gaming characters). Not sure if she uses Steam, but if anyone in the family would, she seems the most likely one to ask. I also put in a query to my brother & a nephew who I know used to do something along the lines of gaming development but he has since gone into the medical field, so not sure he still dabbles or even has time for it anymore with 2 small children at home. Life circumstances has a way of changing our directions, doesn't it?

I use Steam for playing games. I'm also a game developer/videogame 3D artist. There's been controversy over the years with how much of a cut Steam takes from your titles and how hard it is to publicize your games on the platform against AAA studio games. I haven't published games on it personally but I've collaborated with people who have. Developers still strive to put their games on the platform since it's so popular and widely used.

As a gaming platform it's also okay, there's some quirks to it's UI but it's functional. Their gift card system is annoying (you need to add the recipient of the gift for 3+ days in order to send them a digital giftcard.)

Any specific reason why you ask? đź‘€

I asked my daughter about, but then my eyes glazed over and suddenly I was standing next to Charlie Brown while the teacher went WAA WAA Wass.

Yes, I use lots of games through them. Been playing a bit of subnautica 2 recently. It's fine. Why do you ask?