Total newbie needs help

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lesley Susan Madigan

Reaction score
I was lured into this by a "Groupon" voucher £20 and you get to take up to 5 soaps home with you. I like good organic soap and £4 a bar seemed about right.

So off I went. I won't for a second claim the result was attractive but it smelt nice and when I washed my hands with it afterwards my hands smelt lovely and weren't at all dry whereas most shop brought soaps leave me reaching for the hand cream

So now- just thinking I might try some more

How hard is it to make the base? They said they sold little packs for £7 is that too expensive?

How do I heat the base up? A microwave was suggested to not be a good idea but until I decide to take it seriously and buy what they had, which was basically a chocolate melter I don't want to spend a lot of cash, would a bowl in a saucepan of water work and how long?

Can I add things like dried flowers and glitter into the mix before pouring? We were told to put them in the moulds but then that seemed to result in them just staying at the base of the mould

The guy suggested you can use honey or oats- I presume that's instead of milk?

After letting the mix cool they put in the freezer and since mine is packed solid I wonder if that was just to speed things up- could it also be set in the fridge or even overnight on a worktop?

Can anyone suggest a reasonably priced place for colours and scents?

And moulds?

Last edited by a moderator:
Just clearing up some things because you sound all over the place and I want to make sure I get this right.

Based on your use of £ I’m guessing you’re in the UK. I’m in the US, so I won’t be much help with suppliers, it we do have several members from your neck of the woods who might have some advice.