to gel or not to gel and to heat or not to heat

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Purplerain

Reaction score
OK. So I have to throw my first batch out. As a painter I know that everything is rehearsal so I'm ok with that. The next will be better.
I do like to study up though and in reading through post after post, I have two big questions that come up that I really can't figure out the answers to.

1. What is it with gel? Why would I choose to bundle up my soap loaf and keep it cozy v. stick it in the fridge or freezer to cool it down fast? What qualities will result in the soap from one or the other method?

2. Why would I heat my oils to mix with my hot lye instead of dealing with everything at room temperature? That just seems so much easier. And safer. And ditto, what qualities will result in the soap from one or the other method, if there is a difference?

Thanks in advance.

1. Gel is an aesthetic issue for the most part(if you want it). You may want to prevent it if you are using ingredients that heat the soap or will change the color of the soap if overheated. If you want to prevent it, you stick it into the freezer. Overheated soap may volcano out of the mold.

2. Some people soap at room temperatures if they want to slow trace and do fancy stuff. Some of us like to save time and get to trace fast, so soaping hotter gets you there faster. And don't forget that you have to wait for the lye to cool down. Also you have to melt the solid oils, so you will want to apply heat at some point if you are going to pour room temperature lye/water mixture into it.

You need to take the time to figure out what exactly went wrong with the first batch before making another batch. Change the batteries in the scale, test the scale, etc.