Thinking about changing my business name already.....

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AshleyR

Reaction score
Ever since I decided to go into business with my soap, making candles too has been lingering in the back of my mind. I have no experience right now making candles so I've always known it was not something I would get into right away, but maybe in a few years.

Since I know it is something I would like to add to my product line down the road, I'm starting to wonder if I should change the business name I have now to include candles too (trying to think long term!)

The business name I have registered now has "Soap Co." at the end of it. I'm wondering if I should change it to "Soap & Soy" (I would be making soy candles).

I've talked to a few people about it and they don't see the harm in leaving it "Soap Co." - they say they have seen plenty of other "soap companies" with lots of other products, other than just soap. I know I have too, but I feel like right now I have the opportunity to change the name a lot easier than I will say - 5 years from now, when the business is established.

I have already registered my current business name, bought the domain, and bought business cards. In order to change it to "Soap & Soy", I'll have to pay about $100 (to re-register, and buy a new domain), but part of me thinks it might be a smart idea.

What do you guys think? I am planning to start researching candle making now and be selling them along with my soap possibly in a year or so (I'm opening my soap business at the end of June though).

Advice???

Hey Ashley - if you were only worrying about having B&B products included I would advise you to let it be - but since you are wanting the candles as well I would recommend Soap & Candle rather than Soap & Soy since most people won't identify soy with candles. Does that make sense?