The VERY real dangers of soaping-Photos added!!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mouse

Reaction score
I hesitate to post this since I am new to the forum and am afraid that the expert soapers will jump on my case, but I had a very scary incident today. I've been a lurker here long enough to see that there always new soapers out there looking for information, and that the impending Christmas season can heighten that effect, so please take a lesson from my stupidity.

Today I got my shipment of FO's from Brambleberry (White tea & Ginger, Honeysuckle, Bay Rum, Almond, and Applejack Peel). I was EXTREMELY excited, especially since a few of these I have never worked with before. As soon as I smelled the Applejack, I could see in my mind the soap I wanted to make. I was really pressed for time, having only an hour before my husband got home, and we had evening appointments set up, but even so, I really was eager to soap this oil, so I began my little journey.
I wanted to infuse the annatto seed I've had for ages and never used, so I did that, measuring out the oil, grinding the seed, and setting the jar on the counter. I went on to do an orange peel infusion, a ground sage infusion, and mixed a small amount of marigold and jade Labcolors in their own oil. I measured out the base oil, and then realized I was going to have do lye calculations for every one of them. Major mistake! (The rushed manner was my first). I went about measuring out lye for each set of oil, and then measuring water for each of those. By now my kitchen is a mess, with many more containers about than I had ever planned to use!
I mixed the lye into each solution, working quickly as I really didn't want my husband (who just happens to work as a chemical technician in a lab!) to come home and see the mess I had made in the kitchen...