Tax ? before I make the leap into selling.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cerelife

Reaction score
I've been making cp soap for about 3 years now and have formulated my own recipes since my second batch. I've thought about selling in the past, but (thanks to the good advice on this forum) decided against it, as I work full-time and just didn't have enough free time to deal with all the aspects of a soapmaking business.
Several months ago I switched to a weekend shift at the hospital where I work three 12-hour shifts Fri-Sun, so I have weekdays off. I'm making more soap than ever, plus I've started making other products like body butter and solid perfume. I've also been making soy candles for a little over a year.
Now that I have more free time, I've decided to create a small business...not so much to make money (although a modest profit would be nice) but more of a way to write off the yearly cost of membership/insurance in the Soapmakers Guild, etc. and cover the cost to make my products. My decision is based on two things:

1) Not losing money by giving my products away
2) Possibly getting a few of our $$ back from the IRS when we file our taxes as we currently get screw*d by the IRS every year; making my addiction a business may actually help us out a bit.