Tallow!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yooper

Reaction score
I had such a nice surprise today. We drove over to a friend's hobby farm to pick her grapes to make wine, and I gifted her with a couple of bottles of wine and some nice soaps to thank her. She exclaimed, "Oh, I didn't know you made soap! I was going to do it, but never did. Could you use some beef fat that I already rendered and froze?" She has grass fed beef, and the fat was from butchering.

Of course, I said "YES!!!!" and she handed me a huge Tupperware bowl of beautiful frozen white tallow!

I'm so excited, since I've never used tallow before and was hoping to try it! I was planning on trying it with deer tallow this fall, if I'm lucky enough to get one with my bow. But this is already rendered, superclean, and ready to use.

I'd like to make a great batch of soap, as a thank you to her, but I have no idea where to start. I've looked at many recipes with tallow, and I understand it makes a nice white hard bar with creamy later. I've seen most recipes use tallow at about 40% max, and then with 30% CO and 30% OO.

I have most common oils, and I'd love to make a good "everyday" bar for bath and body. I've been playing with soapcalc, but I wanted to see if anybody with experience with tallow could give me some advice and pointers- like how fast does it trace, if it's "too hard", or if there is anything else I should know before trying it.

Thanks a bunch!

Re: Tallow! (and beer?)

Oh, and I am sorry to post again so quickly, but I had another question/thought.