Tallow only soap recipe?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scott_raber

Reaction score
Hi!
I'm a newbie (see introduction board) and I don't know if this is possible. Does anyone have a recipe that I can make using only lye and beef suet tallow using the cold process method?
Thats my question, what follows is personal info you can skip if you want to: My goal is to take a step toward becoming a master soapmaker every day. This is a simple technique I have found effective in accomplishing any goal in a short time. Within the week I plan to make my first batch of soap, but I'm very short of cash and time and wanted to make the most basic soap possible to start. From what little I've read I thought it would be possible to just get the tallow and mix in some lye. However it looks like I will need to buy a scale and maybe some more oils if I don't find a very basic recipe. I'm not looking for anything other than making that first batch within the next week and would prefer not to spend more money.
Thank you all for your time.[/i]

Are you asking about a recipe that ONLY contains tallow or are other oils acceptable as well. (coconut, castor, sunflower, soybean, safflower, one of the many butters etc)

BTW, I think it's great you have goals set for the future, and while it's a lot to understand and learn, it's really worth it in the end.

Edited to add,
first you need to figure out how many ounces of oils you mold will hold and you need to run each and every recipe through a lye calculator for safety and to know how much liquid and lye to use.
Here is my favorite
http://www.soapcalc.com/calc/soapcalcWP.asp

If you just want tallow use 100% tallow from the animal of choice on the menu and click to compute after you filled in your oils amount.

For example 2 lbs of oils
you need
32 oz of tallow
4.335 oz of lye
12.16 oz of liquid