Talk to me: different types of wax

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Natalie

Reaction score
Hello!

I am new to candle making and looking for people's suggestions and/or preferences as to what type of wax they use for what: for tarts, container candles, for pillar candles.

While browsing wax for sale online, I've seen beeswax listed. Where does that come in for candles? Can you blend it with other waxes?

All I've done so far is some soy wax tarts. I LOVED making them, they smell fantastic, and came out colorful, too! I used soy wax, which was supposedly for container candles, since they were tarts and fearing they would be too soft I added stearic acid, is that ok? Maybe I should add vybar instead?

Thanks in advance~

Natalie said:
Hello!

I am new to candle making and looking for people's suggestions and/or preferences as to what type of wax they use for what: for tarts, container candles, for pillar candles.

While browsing wax for sale online, I've seen beeswax listed. Where does that come in for candles? Can you blend it with other waxes?

All I've done so far is some soy wax tarts. I LOVED making them, they smell fantastic, and came out colorful, too! I used soy wax, which was supposedly for container candles, since they were tarts and fearing they would be too soft I added stearic acid, is that ok? Maybe I should add vybar instead?

Thanks in advance~

Starting out even if kept as just a hobby is expensive.
Check the suppliers by state for your supplies.All materials have gone up considerably in the last year or so,as well as shipping prices.

I'd personally recommend you buy a case of Paraffin wax.It's not exactly cheap,but it is most versatile wax on the market.Plenty to experiment around with.

I can't comment on soy.I've never worked with it.

Bees wax comes in plenty with candles.A little research and you'll know why :)

Best of luck.