Supermarket olive oil

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Allan Green

Reaction score
Hi
i was wondering if supermarket olive oil can be used for cp soap and if so which ones are best
In the uk

I prefer to use Grade A. Virgin OO is wasted in soap (IMO). Some people like Pomace as well.

You may also want to check into High Oleic (HO) sunflower and rice bran. More economical. I use 10% each (sunflower, ricebran and grade A olive) in my soap.

I prefer to use Grade A. Virgin OO is wasted in soap (IMO). Some people like Pomace as well.

You may also want to check into High Oleic (HO) sunflower and rice bran. More economical. I use 10% each (sunflower, ricebran and grade A olive) in my soap.
Thank you for your reply I’m new to soap making I understand the answer in theory but a bit over my head at the monent

I get my Olive Oil from either Sam's Club or Costco. Not sure if you have the equivalent of these stores in the UK or not.

We have Costco macro and few other wholesale style shops.

I get mine from lidl @Allan Green. Regular oo is what i usually use take your time keep it simple for the time being while you get more confidence. A liter bottle of regular light oo from lidl is about 2.79 and aldi is about the same i personally wouldnt buy much until you know you want to use it in a regular recipe and in what quantity.

Im in uk too so feel free to inbox if you want any help finding stuff Ill always try help if i can. Iv made a list of fo that do and dont accelerate so that might be some use to you :)

We have Costco macro and few other wholesale style shops.