Superfat adjusting in CP because the EO blend add more fat to the batch

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NcDon

Reaction score
Hi, i'm new to this hobby and need advice from experienced CP homemade soap makers. Does putting 3% ppo 100% pure EO in the batch mean that the standard SF will increase by 3%, from 5% to 8%? What will result, an oily soap or a cream? I think I will lower the SF standard to 3% for a good saponification. My EOs are also oils and will increase overall SF by at least 2%. What do you think?

By the way, In picture is my very first try with 64% olive oil and 36% coconut oil 76 deg. EO: peppermint and lemongrass 2.5% ppo. What you see are soap bars, not ice cream LOL. The only silicone mold I had at that time...

39-24-56-24-15-INS160. PH 9.6-9.8 measured with a calibrated PH meter. I used water discount at 30% for CP. Distiled water:Lye (99.7%) Ratio 2.07:1. The soap washes very well, lathers strongly, moisturizes effectively and does not leave the skin dry. The feeling of soap contact with the skin is very pleasant and the scent is refreshing, it does not compare to the synthetic detergents illegally called soaps from stores. Thank you in advance for your answers.

primul batch de sapun homemade.jpg

Hi and welcome! Essential oils do not Saponi fly and will not affect your super fat amount. Your soaps are lovely.

Thanks a lot for the tip. I will follow this advice. Before making my first soap, I learned a lot of useful things from this forum and now I have become a member here. My next attempt is more sophisticated. My new recipe contains five oils and a blend of three EOs. Plus small additions in decent quantities. Sodium Lactate, Citric Acid with NaOH extra lye and Panthenol. Let's see what will result.