Super fat v bubbles

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

welsh black

Reaction score
I'm new to soaping - only 5 months practice ! I've been trying did different recipes -oils and super fat % to see which one people like the best. when I give someone a bar of soap they all seem to like:-

1. Smell
2. Bubbly soap
3. The look of the bar.
4. Creamy(not drying )

I found a recipe I like which gave me a bubbly of 23 and creamy 43. I made the first batch at 5% super fat and want to take it up to 10%. The question is thar when I change the ratio on supercalc the bubbly and creamy ratios do not change, but I've seen lots of posts that say that super fating effects the bubble production ? Is this correct? If so what does super fat ting add to the bar - which soap bar quality changes?

Are you using SoapCalc? If so just plug in the oils and change the superfat % to see what happens. Adding sugar to the water and stirring until dissolved before adding the lye will increase bubbles. I never go above 8% superfat and usually use 5%-6% unless I am making a salt bar.

Hello! The concept of superfatting is a safeguard so that all of the lye is reacted with the oils and fats. You do not want any left-over lye so you make sure you have a small percentage of extra oils and fats left in a soap batter. Generally, a superfat percentage of 5 to 6 is good for most soapmaking. Superfatting your soap also helps to condition your skin. That being said, too much superfatting (above 8% and higher) can lead to very poor lather development, feel more greasy or oily and, more importantly, cause rancidity to rapidly develop within the soap bars.

I thought if I changed the super fat % from 5 to 10 then soap calc would show a different bubble number ? But it didn't (perhaps I did it wrong). I'll stick to 5%. Most comments I've had seem to like the lather and creaminess anyway.