Super Fat Help

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Minnette1212

Reaction score
Hi! So I am fairly new to soap making, my first experience making CP soap went great however i find that my soap is very tacky to the skin, so after some research i found that I can up the super fat % to 25% and up to 30% for making coconut oil soap, so I tried that, and I made a 100% coconut oil soap batch using a 25% super fat so that It's not so tacky when used in bathing, my question is... If I'm making a different type soap, say for instance, A Shea Butter, Avocado oil, and cocoa butter soap mix can I still use a 25% super fat in that? Or is this only when making a 100% coconut oil soap... TIA... :)

Most soapers use 1-10% superfat. Mine is always 2-3%. Many soapers recommend a low superfat so that unsaponified oils don't clog your pipes. I've never made that 100% coconut oil soap but there are plenty of posts here about it and I know that high level of superfat is extremely unusual and the exception.

I do not recommend making soap using 100% of only one oil. Search the forum for the 'holy trinity' and really any and every single post made by @Zany_in_CO . The holy trinity uses thirds of olive oil, coconut oil, and palm oil. Each oil contributes a property, coconut brings the bubbles, palm brings the hardness, etc. I started with the trinity, tweaked a recipe for a year, and now have settled on palm, coconut, avocado, rice bran, and castor oils and shea butter.

Also, welcome to the forum!

Most soapers use 1-10% superfat. Mine is always 2-3%. Many soapers recommend a low superfat so that unsaponified oils don't clog your pipes. I've never made that 100% coconut oil soap but there are plenty of posts here about it and I know that high level of superfat is extremely unusual and the exception.