Sunflower Lecithin in Bath Bombs

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Haven't tried sunflower lecithin in bath bombs. But now I want to try it. Have also read that Borax can be used as an emulsifier as well. Am going to try both. Have you made either one?

Haven't tried sunflower lecithin in bath bombs. But now I want to try it. Have also read that Borax can be used as an emulsifier as well. Am going to try both. Have you made either one?
hi i have been experimenting with sunflower lecithin , im using 1 gram to 1 kilo of bath bomb mixture , its not much but the lecithin is very thick.
Im using 5grams of essential oil per kilo, and always Check that its ok through the EO calculator,
im finding the oils are not sitting on top of the water , im happy with the results, only think i dont like is teeny tiny brown spots, prob gotta spend more time mixing as im new to bath bomb making.
havent heard about borax but you have peaked my interest now........off to google

hi i have been experimenting with sunflower lecithin , im using 1 gram to 1 kilo of bath bomb mixture , its not much but the lecithin is very thick.
Im using 5grams of essential oil per kilo, and always Check that its ok through the EO calculator,
im finding the oils are not sitting on top of the water , im happy with the results, only think i dont like is teeny tiny brown spots, prob gotta spend more time mixing as im new to bath bomb making.
havent heard about borax but you have peaked my interest now........off to google
Updated June 16 2023. Am removing the link to borax in bath bombs. Thank you @justjacqui for posting the dangers of borax.

Wonder if the sunflower lecithin needs to be warmed and mixed with the oils maybe?

Last edited:
Borax is not an emulsifier by itself but can be used to create an emulsifier when combined with other ingredients such as beeswax.