Strange hole in the center of my CP soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bluebirdmgc

Reaction score
I’m pretty new to soap making (I have 4 successful cold process batches and 2 hot process batches under my belt). I am also totally new to this forum, and would love some help identifying what I did wrong. I have made this general soap recipe several times with no problem. I got a little over confident I guess and decided to try making a test batch of a matcha and mint version with goat milk. The basic recipe (without goat milk) is made with olive oil, coconut oil, sweet almond oil, cocoa butter, and castor oil, with 10% super fat (I like a really moisturizing soap). I used the normal amount of water, and added the amount of powdered goat milk that would correspond to that volume of water after combining the oil and lye water (not quite at trace). I added the usual amount of fragrance (mint, lemon, and lime essential oils), plus matcha powder. I made a 2lb batch, combined ingredients at 110F (my usual temperature to a bit low), and put it in a silicone and wood log mold. I unmolded and sliced it today (4 days after making it) and the center looks strange. The top looked totally normal, not cracked, no alien brain. Through the whole loaf, something oily seems to be leaking out of the center, and the very middle has this odd, stringy section. What is this, and what caused it? I can think of a number of things I probably did wrong in my whimsical attempt to try something new when my old recipe was working so beautifully:
- didn’t re calculate superfat content and adjust lye to account for fat in goat milk, which may have led to higher superfat than intended
- used normal amount of water plus goat milk powder, rather than decreasing water volume to account for volume of goat milk powder
- used two new to me ingredients at once (matcha and goat milk)