SP fat and milk

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Okay I have been soaping for over 8 years. I've been making milk soap for the past 6 years. I just read a post that never occurred to me I'm not was reducing my super fat due to the milk fat in the milk. I've been soaping at 6% super fat and I'm now thinking of reducing that down. I'll be doing my goat milk soap as soon as my lye comes in. What super fat % would you suggest I try with my goats milk? This will be the first time I've used goats milk. Most of my other soaps or coconut milk or coconut and cow milk.

I never adjust the superfat even when I use half cream and half water in my soap. It seems to turn out great.

lsg, what is your regular SF? I usually SF at 7/7.5 - have dry skin - and am going to try a coconut milk soap today using the 50/50 split method, I was worried that if I did not reduce the initial SF the bar would end up being soft/melt faster in use. Do you not find there are any problems in that respect?

Would love your input, or anyone else's on this. I would be using mostly hard oils Lard (45%)/Tallow (20%)/Coconut (15%)/Olive (13%)/Castor (7%).

I usually go with 5% superfat using SoapCalc. If I have a low condition number, then I up the superfat. The high percentage of tallow and lard should give you a good condition number, even at 5% superfat. You might want to try using frozen aloe juice as half the liquid. I have a customer that swears by my aloe/cream bar.

I love using aloe juice.

For the SF I used to just soap at 5% but when I started to care more I would figure out the fat content from the label and include it in soap calc just so I would know what it was. I'd say there was no noticability between the ones that were a true 5% and whatever the unknown was.