Something Different Guidance Requested

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ron Munson

Reaction score
I have been making this amazing cleaner for several years. Originally as a hand cleaner but found it does an incredible job on anything that can be cleaned using water. It only takes a rounded 1/4 tsp to clean the dirtiest mechanic hands. As a result it requires a lot of water when it's being used.

Right now it is a bit inconvenient to use out of an open top container. I have tried thinning it for squeeze bottle use but the shelf life before it won't squeeze out is too short. Pre-mix it with water and it turns into concrete.

My request for guidance is: I would love to make this into a bar. It does have a small amount of detergent but only a small amount.

This is an amazingly helpful site. I have lye, lard, coconut oil, olive oil etc. whatever I need, just need someone to point me in the right direction of making an existing cleaner into a bar.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• New Batch.jpg
    New Batch.jpg
    22.4 KB · Views: 72
  • rounded quarter tsp..jpg
    rounded quarter tsp..jpg
    29.3 KB · Views: 66
So the answer to this question is solely based on your "secret" ingredient that is formulated by an outside source. All the other ingredients such as the lye , lard , coconut oil , etc can be used to make bar soap. And what jumps out at me is this question: : "Have you made soap from scratch before" ? There are more factors that makes this [your product] interesting to trouble shoot , i.e , using a lot of water when being used tells me that it is heavily concentrated and needs to dilute properly , plus that it hardens like concrete when mixed with water.