Soft soap -sticky when unmolding

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Happy2018

Reaction score
Hi,

The black one is charcoal, the other basic, no EO no FO

They have been sitting in the molds for 48 hours, 2 days, and tired to unmold them.
You can see sticky and softness.

Both Lye and oil was at 54 C and 55 C when I mixed.

Also I do realize there is air bubbles, I thought my stick blender was fine. No, I found the article here about stick blenders and ordered a new one.

Do anyone have any idea of why it is still sticky after 2 days?

Thanks, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_8575.JPG
    IMG_8575.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_8578.JPG
    IMG_8578.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 0
Hi,

5 % superfat
30% water
tallow 53%
coconut oil 23.50 %
soy oil 23.50

Will it still harden up, but take longer?

Thanks!

I have no experience with animal oils.
What are your molds made out of? If they are clear plastic molds, they work better for melt and pour soap. I mutilate my cold process soap trying to get out of those molds. You can also line the mold first with vaseline.
I also use sodium lactate which can speed up unmolding. I am at the high end and use 3% of total oil weight. I unmold from silicon molds after 24 hours.
Good luck.

They are silicone molds,

I was watching a video, I think Bramleberry??? And it was talking about water percentage, and said that most soap calculators have a standard at 38 % and that is too high but is better for 30 % but one could go lower.

I did wonder if I have too much water, do you have any experience with a lower water percentage?

It never occurred to me it could have been the oils. Until Blufuz said mentioned it.

Thanks

Last edited: