Soft Oils and Skin Conditioning

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Orchidgirl

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

First, I want to thank anyone reading this who chimed in on my recent thread about water discounts--I have been doing so much reading lately about this important aspect of soapmaking, and it's been pretty exciting to learn something new. I am still a relative newbie, and I greatly appreciate the patience and kind helpfulness of so many on here. :)

So, onward to my latest inquiry. I'd like to hear your personal preferences and suggestions regarding the use of "soft" oils in soapmaking, as well as any other advice you may have regarding "skin-conditioning" additives. I think my usual recipes are very high in the hard oils, which so far has suited me just fine, but I keep reading about the skin conditioning aspects of soft oils and wonder if I'm missing out on something. I am, however, paranoid about DOS, which I've had in a couple of my earliest batches that involved almond oil at 10%, an oil that I've never used since. I keep my oils fresh, but my soap tends to sit around quite a while before I use it, so longevity of the finished bar of soap is important to me.

Here's a typical recipe:
Palm oil: 35% (at least. Often as high as 45%)
Coconut oil: 25% (frequently I go closer to 30%)
Olive: 25% (have been trying to keep this % down lately to help create a "whiter" bar)
Castor: 5%
Shea: 10% (this is a new ingredient for me. So far, and disappointingly enough, I don't notice any difference with this in my soap than I did before using a butter)