Soda ash inside loaf?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, I made a lemongrass / litsea soap over the weekend that has white streaks through it that look like soda ash, but I’m not sure. The soap has three colors, yellow, pale green from comfrey infused oil, and uncolored. The colors were made by adding infused OO to a portion of soap after mixing a lye heavy base (infused OO 40% of total) I added the EOs to all three colors, but mixed them with kaolin clay, which I have never tried before. I am not sure if I didn’t mix it well enough? There were 4T of clay in 3000 g of soap. I tried steaming it out and it sort of worked, but doesn’t look great. Thoughts? The recipe is one I have used many times.
F51EC940-5813-4CAE-80D3-2DE8D735A731.jpeg

Hi all, I made a lemongrass / litsea soap over the weekend that has white streaks through it that look like soda ash, but I’m not sure. The soap has three colors, yellow, pale green from comfrey infused oil, and uncolored. The colors were made by adding infused OO to a portion of soap after mixing a lye heavy base (infused OO 40% of total) I added the EOs to all three colors, but mixed them with kaolin clay, which I have never tried before. I am not sure if I didn’t mix it well enough? There were 4T of clay in 3000 g of soap. I tried steaming it out and it sort of worked, but doesn’t look great. Thoughts? The recipe is one I have used many times.
View attachment 60833
Love how it turned out! beautiful. I don't know if it's soda ash? never heard of soda ash being inside the soap'but its beautiful.

Thank you! That’s kind of you to say, I like it ok but am not sure what that white is? The soap color is that other creamy white color.
I’ve had uncolored soap do that before. I have no idea why. Yours is beautiful!

Attachments

• 8F19F451-06EF-45A1-8B54-B528ED1E2EB4.jpeg