Soap went wonky

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fujihime

Reaction score
I'm sorry for the messed up title but I'm not sure how else to describe it!

My soap 'grow spots' as you can see from the pictures. I thought they were unmelted oil at the first few hours but as I unmold the loaf, the 'spots' grew in numbers. Previously there weren't even any on the surface (the round ones are actually embeds but now they look like part of the spots!)

It's my first time encountering this condition. I'm fairly new to soaping so I need help to identify what went wrong so that I would not repeat the same mistake again. The only thing I did differently compare to my other batches of soap is adding cherry blossom fo. I'm experimenting on a few new fo and so far they turn out ok. Does unstable fo result in such spots? Please help. Thank you!

IMG_9401.jpg

IMG_9402.jpg

Are the spots liquidy/oily, or are they firm to the touch, like they are a part of soap, but somewhat clear or translucent? If they are firm and seem to be part of the soap, they are most likely 'glycerin rivers'. The term 'glycerin rivers' is actually a misnomer, but that's what we tend to call them around here. Here's a pic of one of my soaps with similar spots, which turned out to be 'glycerin rivers'. They are firm and a part of the soap, but translucent. One would think I had tossed some clear MP chunks into my batch, but I didn't. This is the result of my FO causing my soap to accelerate and go through a really hot gel:
IMG_0547KentishRainGlycerinRivers640.JPG

IrishLass :)

Could you post your recipe? It helps everyone troubleshoot.

ETA: And "wonky" is an official soaping term. :wink:

Here's the oil I used:
Olive 40%
Coconut 15%
Palm 15%
Sweet almond 10%
Castor 10%
Cocoa butter 10%

Fragrance used were cherry blossom fo, grapefruit eo and rose geranium eo.