Soap that never traced

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Escopolamina

Reaction score
Hello

Im fairly new to making soap and when i was making a batch, i spent around 2 hours and half waiting for it to trace, but it never happened.
I still poured it into a mold, what's gonna happen with it?

Cheers!

First thing would be to post your full recipe so we can diagnose what might be the issues. I take it you were hand mixing and not using a stick blender, correct?

When you say it didn't trace, what do you think trace is? If you poured it in the mold without it tracing it probably won't set up and just desperate in the mold.

Hello again

I was using a mechanical mixer.

The trace is the pattern that is left on top of the mixture which remains before sinking back into the mass.

This was not the first time i make soap, yet it was the first time it didnt trace.

Heres the recipe:

201 gr Lye
538 gr Destilled dwater
595 gr olive oil
545 gr coconut oil
396 gr palm oil

The batch did set, i mean, its solid now, but i still ahve the doubt regarding its result; im kind of afriad of using it without knowing whats with a soap that never got to trace.

I ran it through Soap calc and nothing seems a miss there. It is possible you got it right to emulsification and not a full trace. Some soapers just go to emulsification. I would say if it has set up in the mold just let it be for a day and see what happens. If it stays sold and you can unmold and cut it, let it cure for a couple of days and then zap test it. No zap then you are good. If it separates, I would dump it into a crockpot or double boiler and cook it.

I used soap calc and put in the oil numbers but my calculations came back with 583g of water and 224g of lye.

Is it possible you made a mistake and didn't add enough lye? If that's what happened and it set up, at least it wouldn't be lye heavy.