Soap Slippery and Mica Particles??

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

karenricha

Reaction score
Hello,
Ok - I am VERY new to all of this. I actually by experience am a card maker - but my paper crafting led me to party favors which led me to a request for soap for a baby shower. So I purchased melt and pour soap (Shea Butter) and some essential oil and some Mica for coloring. First problem is some of my soap is wicked slippery...and I wonder if it because I may have used too much essential oil?? What other reason could it be?

Then my 2nd problem is I bought some mica colorants. I took some glycerin soap and mixed my mica and then added it to my batch of melt and pour soap ( yes it was already melted) and stirred it very well...poured it into my molds and then when I flipped my mold over and took off the rubber stamp - I see all these mica sediments....I am not sure why...the soap is all spotty? Not even colored...its like a mustard yellow soap...with all these little mustard spots at the top?
Is mica ok to use in melt and pour...or should I be using another type of colorant? Is there a special way to add it to the soap? I just want a creamy looking bar...not all spotty :( All advice would be greatly appreciated.

I used BulkApothacary SFIC Shea Butter melt and pour base...and honestly I didn't measure my essential oil...LOL - I am new to all of this...I added as i stirred and I could smell the soap...(Yikes - probably not a good idea) and as far as mica goes...I used Natural Mica Pigment powder from the same company...I had purchased the variety pack of different colors...and I chose the yellow...

but I noticed that the soap is like beading - it looks wet...and I go to pick it up..and I can barely lift it up because it is just so slippery.. :confused: