Soap isn't hardening! :(

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lavandis

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to soap making and have been reading for a few months before I decided to give soap making a go.
So after fully understanding soapcal and the basic soap making procedure I decided to make my own formula based on the oils I know I can buy.
So first I'll share my recipe and then I hope you could tell me what went wrong;

OILS:
Coconut Oil 27% 135 gr
Olive Oil 50% 250 gr
Cocoa butter 15% 75 gr
Almond Oil 8% 40 gr

Super fat discount 5%
Lye 70.8 gr
Water 190 gr

Fragrance 15 gr
* But I ended up adding 8gr in total of rosemary, tea tree and eucalyptus in equal parts of each.

Extras:
20 drops of vitamin E.
And a tablespoon of honey at light trace.

The recipe has infused olive, almond and coconut oil of herbs for allergies. The oil was first macerated in 95% proof alcohol for 8 months, then heated over 12 hours on low heat to evaporate the alcohol and result in a extra potent infused herbal oil.

I followed the basic soap procedure and poured my batter and then insulated my soap.
It has been more than 48 hours and my soap is still completely LIQUID, if I move my mould the soap swishes back and forth like soup.

I know some soaps take about 7 days to harden but I feel that at this point at least some part of my soap would have solidified and it hasn't .

I hope some of you experienced soapers out there could give me a hand or two as to what did I do wrong or if I just need to be more patient and wait for the 7 days to pass before I start to panic.

THANK YOU!!

Last edited: