Soap is not good for your skin

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Druantia

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to soap making and while I really enjoy the whole process and I'm very excited about soap making, I did a lot of research about how effective and healthy soap is. My question was, is it really that good on your skin? Does it worth the money and the time? Because if there are better alternatives, then I'm not able to do it with all of my heart, and now my feelings are a little uncertain about soap making.

This article sums it up well:
Article about skin and soap

What are your thoughts about this?

The result of my research is that soap in fact is really bad for the skin and its balance because of the high PH (even if you have superfat in the soap).

is it really that good on your skin?
There is commercial "soap" and there is handmade soap like we make here. Like many members here, I started making soap because I couldn't find a commercially made soap that didn't irritate my skin.
Does it worth the money and the time?
To me it is. I make "plain jane" soaps suitable for my skin with an emphasis on "sensitive skin" that are also good for most skin types. I make specialty bars on request from friends and family with problem skin issues.

The amount of time and money spent are totally under your control.

Example: My first soaps were made from tallow and/or lard with 10% coconut and 5% castor thrown in to boost lather.
Cost to make: Less than $1 a bar.

There was little information availble online in 2003 when I made my first bar of soap at age 60. I was inspired by a little book, "Making Soap and Scents" by Catherine Bardey that I found in the Bargain Bin at Barnes & Noble. In it, I found a recipe to duplicate a Mild Face Soap that I was buying from DHC, a Japanese Mail-Order catalog for $5 a bar. Over the years, the price had gone up to $12 a bar!!!