soap batter tracing fast

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arabella H

Reaction score
hi soapers,
i'm a beginner and i've made some attempt in making soap, but i don't understand why my soap batter traces so fast, so i hope someone here can inform me.
here are my attempts:

Trial 1 (brown, black & white color )
extra virgin olive 40% (248 gr)
coconut (76 deg) 30% (186 gr)
palm 20% (124 gr)
almond 5% (31 gr)
castor 5% (31 gr)
lye concentration 35% (water 165 gr & lye 89 gr)
fragrance ratio 0.2 (0.12 gr)
i didn't check my lye temp when i put it into the oils mixture but it was a bit warm, did a few second burst with my stick blender to emulsify - took my stick blender out on thin trace - my mixture reached thick trace in less than 1 minute and i had to scoop my batter to mold.
i mixed my TD with oil (olive) while it's water soluble, causing ugly TD spots

Trial 2 (blue & white color)
i used same recipe as above for smaller batch, but this time i used water as percentage of oil 38%, room temp lye, TD diluted with water (1:3), and no fragrance [as i read water ratio, fragrance, and lye temp can fasten trace]
did a few second burst with SB to emulsify - took my SB out on really thin trace - mixture traced to medium in around 1 minute (slower than my 1st attempt but still really fast), so i panicked and added more water into the mixture in the last minute (hence, glycerin river).
mixture was on thick trace when i poured it to the mold.

Trial 3 (just now)
i googled further and found that castor oil causes mixture to trace fast, so i tried another recipe:
extra virgin olive oil 40% (95 gr)
coconut 25% (90 gr)
palm 25% (90 gr)
almond 10% (36 gr)
lye concentration 35%, room temp lye, TD diluted with water (1:3), and no fragrance.
mixture still traced really fast (around the same as 2nd attempt)