Soap Base question

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

csnyderrn

Reaction score
I am new at this, so thank you in advance for any help you can give me. If we make our soap base and let it cure (let the lye dissipate) can we then melt it down, add the fragrance, then pour it into the molds? Thank you...we are making goat milk soap if that matters.

If you are making cold process soap, melting it down and then adding fragrance or other additives is called rebatching and is a bit different than buying a melt and pour base to use. Commercial melt and pour bases are made with specific ingredients that allow it to be easily melted down to add color, fragrance, etc., then poured into molds. Rebatching of cold process soap is a bit different.

You can rebatch a base, in fact some suppliers sell unscented base, but for me it is always easier just to make a small batch of cp soap and scent it the way I like. My rebatched soap is usually not as smooth. If you would like to try making a batch of meltable soap here is a tutorial:

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2nw4CBN_RC0[/ame]

Thank you. I want our product to be nice and smooth and we are using the CP. I guess we will have to take a stab in the dark as to the products people will want since it takes so long for the soap to cure. Thanks for your input. I have read that you can test your soap and when you have a ph of 7, it is ready to use. Has anyone used this method instead of just letting it set for 1 -2 months?

Thank you. I want our product to be nice and smooth and we are using the CP. I guess we will have to take a stab in the dark as to the products people will want since it takes so long for the soap to cure. Thanks for your input. I have read that you can test your soap and when you have a ph of 7, it is ready to use. Has anyone used this method instead of just letting it set for 1 -2 months?