Skin, absorption, soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
While I am not an expert, I have spent many hours over the hears researching and consulting experts on the what skin really absorbs, and what can soap do or not do. Some of those experts are pharmacists, anatomists and physiologists. I've been taking college science courses like biology, anatomy and physiology lately as well. My anatomy professor LOVES my salt bars - so we traded soap for hours of my picking his brain about these issues.

In short:

Mommy bloggers, bath/body companies (big and home-based), MLM companies, and others wanting to find a clever marketing pitch to sell products - have perpetuated a bunch of falsehoods, exaggerations, and fears.

Social media has launched that misinformation and falsehoods in a frenzy that has taken on a life of its own. This certainly makes it EXTREMELY difficult for intelligent people to sort through the fray and find the facts.

Fact is: the skin does NOT absorb the degree of stuff the internet says. The skin's function is a barrier; it's pushes outward. Cell operation is very, very, specific about what can enter it due to its chemistry of proteins and enzymes, size of receptors and other factors. If the molecule doesn't fit or have the right chemical charge - it doesn't get it.
*one example of this comes from Vitamin C lotions and serums. There are a few different forms of vitamin C (ascorbic acid, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, sodium ascorbate, etc) and they come in different sizes of molecules and some are too big to fit into the cell - therefore they aren't absorbed and your money is wasted.