Side of Beef, Tallow?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jean1C

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am getting ready to order a side of beef for the freezer. I am thinking I can ask the butcher for some fat, since he has to trim the stuff anyway. I have NO experience in tallow, but would like to try some soap with this.
My question specifically, is how much should I request? I have to render it, right? Anyone have any good web links that have worked?
I would really like to know how to do this, my grandmother did it, after she immigrated from Poland. My mom remembers some of it, but being the youngest,(she is now 87) didn't really take part in the process.
Heck, I even have the old cauldron from my "Busia"...maybe I can set something out over the firepit and have an authentic lye soap...yeah...

I wouldn't ask for over 15 lbs of tallow. Tallow can get old just like lard. You will probably need to clean it unless the butcher will clean it and grind it for you. I would have him divide it into 2 or 3 lb packages if he grinds it and wraps it. That way you can render a litttle at a time.