Shopping carts and templates for your website?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kristin2011

Reaction score
I currently have a web site being hosted at godaddy.com www.mibellacreations.com and was looking for a better shopping cart that is easy to use and where I can integrate my own design or templates. How difficult do you think it is to work with a shopping cart? I’ve never used one before and have always relied on Paypal buttons. Since I downloaded a template for a redesign of my website, I wanted to be able to use that with my new shopping cart but I am unsure of how to get the shopping cart to work with the templates. Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks!

Personally, I would move my site to one of Godaddy's linux servers and install joomla. Then use a joomla template from a site like http://www.rockettheme.com/ then finally i would use one of the many shopping carts available from the joomla extensions site. Joomla is free, the linux servers may be cheaper to host your site on and the shopping cart, which is also free, seamlessly integrates into your site. All you have to do to implement the cart is to click a few buttons and enter correct banking info. All the programming is handled by a programmer. Joomla will take some getting used to, but once you get the hang of it, its very easy to use. The only thing that would cost you money is the template from rocket theme. But even with that, you may be able to find a free one you like.

I know thats not an answer you are looking for (redesign your whole site) but in the long run i think it would be a better solution if you are not a web programmer.

I have Joomla. It's not as easy to set up. Updates are a pain unless you know exactly what you are doing. I have to contact my programmer anytime I need any updates. Adding new product listings and photos are easy enough.