Sea water in face cream ?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm about to make some face cream/moisturizer for my daughter....she finally trusts me !! She's all of 36 and says she wants something for her "ageing" skin :rolleyes: I must add I'm pretty new to this lotion game....only really made it for myself but have been quite happy.
I'm using WSP to formulate. Two questions... probably more to come :) I was planning on using 35% distilled water and 35% aloe juice and wondered if I could sub some of the water for sea water (boiled & filtered) ? Only because I like the sound of it in the ingredients. :)
The second question do I have to have 75% oil & 25% butter ? My formulation was all oils. (Apricot kernel, jojoba, sweet almond & kakadu plum...in jojoba & olive squalane). Should I be swapping one of these for a butter ? I have mango, shea & cocoa.
Other additives I've put in are Panthenol, Niacinamide, Kanuka honey, glycerin & aloe vera gel.
Am I overdoing it....me thinks !!
Advice would be greatly appreciated.... thanks :)
BTW - she says her skin is very sensitive.

Quote Reply
Report Edit

Um, you can do what you like with your lotion/cream, but if I were doing this, I'd be wary of adding salts to the lotion just because it sounds like fun. Salts can alter how the emulsifier works. Maybe in a good way, maybe not good, but there's no way to know without doing a test batch. If you're just trying to get 'er done, leave the sea water out of the product until you can do some tests.

You can use all oils, but you may need to increase the percentage of thickener (cetyl alcohol, stearic acid, etc.) to get the desired consistency, because solid fats provide some thickening power. Again, doing a test batch would tell you whether you need to adjust the thickener or not.