Salt bar recipes please

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bhelen

Reaction score
I want to make a salt bar but I have never tried it before so don't know all the potential issues. My regular recipe is a milk soap using the split method, and the oils are: 45%OO, 20%CO, 25 - 30%PO, 5%Castor oil, (5% cocoa butter). SF5%.

Is it best to use 100% CO for salt bars or can I stick to my regular recipe? And what do people mean when they say 100% salt for example? Does it mean the same weight of liquid and salt? Should I use a 20%SF? Does the salt affect fragrance amount or type? Can I still use milk or should I stick to water? Should I work at a particular temperature?

The other thing is I use silicone molds and usually pour at emulsion or very light trace to get a smooth finish. Will I be able to do that with the salt bar, or what will happen to the texture?

Thanks! I want to be as well informed as possible before experimenting.

You should use at least 70% coconut oil, you can use whatever other oils you want. My favorite is 80% CO, 20% OO. Yes, use 20% SF with salt bars.
100% salt means 100% of the oil weight. If you use 10 oz of oil, you would use 10 oz of salt. I actually prefer 50% salt, more then that makes the bar harder to lather.

You can't pour salt bars at thin trace, it has to be thick enough that the salt doesn't sink. I add my salt at thin trace and stir until its thick. Salt can cause acceleration so mix it in by hand. I use them same amount of scent as I would with regular CP, some people add more, some less. Ass fragrance before the salt.

Yes, you can use milk, I love coconut milk or beer in my salt bars.