Recipe Suggestions ? Want to try something new.

SoapMakingForum

Help Support SoapMakingForum:

Gaspar Navarrete

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Up until now, my soap batches have been combinations of olive oil, palm oil, castor oil, and coconut oil.

I'd like to try a different recipe. Can anyone suggest a recipe ? I have a good amount of olive oil, coconut oil and bacon grease (lard). I also have a little bit of red palm oil.

Note that I'm still a beginner. I have made seven batches.

I was wondering about avocado oil. People say it's wonderful to include, but the soap won't keep as long.

Thanks

Last edited:

snappyllama

Supporting Member
Reaction score
If you haven't tried a Salt bar, those are really nice.

100% CO.
Or 85% CO. 5% Castor and 10% something else (OO/AO/shea/whatever you like)
Or 90% CO with 10% Castor.

20% SF on any of those. I like 50% sea salt weight in my bars, but folks go from 20% to 100% weight. They need a good 3 months cure to shine. Put in individual molds to make life easy on yourself otherwise you have to watch them like a hawk and cut as soon as they are hard enough (1-4 hours) so they don't make a crumbly mess.

Of course, I love a high lard recipe: 55% lard, 5% Castor, 15% CO and the rest in OO. 5-7% SF. I've never used bacon grease, but I'd make sure it's really clean.

Those are just what I like though. :)

kchaystack

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I don't know where they got the idea avocado oil would go off fast. I use it in all my soaps, as do several others here, and none of my batches have developed any problems. Some are over a year old.

penelopejane

Reaction score
I just made a few batches of 100% and aloe juice and it's my new favourite!

100% what? OO?

I don't know where they got the idea avocado oil would go off fast. I use it in all my soaps, as do several others here, and none of my batches have developed any problems. Some are over a year old.