Recipe meanderings

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Could some of you chime in on what you think of this recipe and, especially, the attached ideas? It's a recipe I've been using for a couple of months and I am very happy with it, but still, open to ideas.

Olive - 17.3%
Sunflower - 17.3%
Palm - 6.65%
Coconut - 26.7%
Shea - 4.87%
Lard - 17.7%
Castor - 7.8%
St. Joseph's Oil - 1.95% (The secret ingredient!)

a) I will be eliminating the Palm once I run out of it. I'll replace it with Lard.
b) I'd like to reduce the Coconut to maybe 20%. Does that sound alright to you? Again, to make up the difference with Lard.

You really should consider adding another decimal digit to each oil. Soapmaking is all about precision, you should know this.

With this in mind, my suggestion for the next river bend of your recipe could look something like this:

Olive - 17.998%
Sunflower - 13.052%
Coconut - 20.000%
Shea - 6.995%
Lard - 35.004%
Castor - 5.001%
St. Joseph's Oil - 1.950% (untouched – not worth risking to upset St. Joseph, the patron saint of pirate soaps)

(Feel free to do some obvious rounding, if you don't want to annoy people to enter pointlessly long numbers into soap calculators. With few exceptions, I personally tune my percentages to be multiples of 5%, and you could easily do so as well, or at least round to integer percentages. With your happy bumpy numbers, you're harassing yourself in the first place.)

Explanation: Coconut to 20% is no issue; you had the right instinct to replace it with a hard oil, to keep the hardness on par (rigidity at unmoulding time). It might be even slightly beneficial for the longevity (i. e. the number of uses doable with one piece of soap), and the bubbliness loss will likely be negligible.