re-batching bad soap?

Soapmaking Forum - Soap & Candle Forums

Help Support Soapmaking Forum - Soap & Candle Forums:

criscrispv

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2013
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I was experimenting with milk in soap, and it did not go well, I got lots of oily spots everywhere, and I know it is not DOS, can I simply re-batch it? or would I need to add something to balance it? PLEASE HELP! don't like to throw away soap that could be harmful!

2013-09-25 09.47.57.jpg
 

Obsidian

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
10,521
Reaction score
8,632
Location
Idaho, USA
It looks like it overheated and separated. Rebatch it and see how it turns out. If you make milk soap again, you might try and prevent gelling so it doesn't over heat.
 

shunt2011

Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
15,449
Reaction score
9,771
Location
Michigan
You could try to rebatch it and then be sure to zap test it. I gel all my soaps (they all are made with milk) but I watch them carefully to make sure they don't overheat. If they start getting too hot I just uncover them. Sorry this happened to you.
 

judymoody

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
4,979
Reaction score
1,284
Location
US Southwest
If you decide to rebatch, use everything, including the oozy oily part or your soap might turn out lye heavy. You can do this in a low temperature oven or a crockpot.
 

criscrispv

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2013
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
thank you all! I think I will rebatch the hole lot and test the ph when ready, you have been very helpful! :)
 

Latest posts

Top