Rapeseed Wax

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Since it is hydrogenated rapeseed oil, it would have the same SAP value at least, so that's where I would start if I were in your place. I have not used it myself for soap, and have not found a source that provides any stats on the FA make-up of rapeseed wax, because it is mostly sold for use in candles, melts and cosmetics.

do you have a source for the ingredient?

I can give you a link to a site that gives the most information: https://mothernaturesgoodies.co.uk/...ustainable-wax-for-container-and-jar-candles/

I am a complete newbie to soap making but I thought it might be fun to try and devise a vegan soap recipe with a low carbon footprint. As I am in the UK I am therefore looking for European grown ingredients. I think I might have to lean towards a castile type soap :) Rapeseed wax just looked like an interesting ingredient especially after reading through the really long soy wax post!! I am learning so much on here!!

i don't know anything about the product. i would look at olive oil pomace if you want a low carbon footprint soap.

I've been conducting some small batch experiments using (from left to right): 1) 5% rapeseed wax 2) 5% rapeseed wax with sodium lactate 3) 5% rapeseed wax with a brine solution 4) 8% rapeseed wax with sodium lactate and sugar. They need at least another 2 weeks to cure but after a wee test run in the shower this week soaps 2 and 3 are very promising. Soap 4 is too new to test yet. As you can see they have all formed a light soda ash which I am now off to learn how to remove...:)

upload_2019-6-7_13-44-4.jpeg

Looks promising Fiona! And lovely colours to boot.
I am looking forward to your results. I just experimented with 5% Japan wax in a batch yesterday and will be unmolding today.