Question for correct lye amount to use for cp soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kristin2011

Reaction score
I am new to making cp soap and I was just wondering if this was the correct amount of lye I needed to make a 2lb batch of soap? Here’s the recipe I made and I put it through a lye calculator. The lye concentration is at 33% and 7% superfat.

Can I replace the water content with Coconut Milk instead? And how much tea tree oil should I add per pound?
Thanks for any information you can provide!

cp soap

1 Olive Oil 43%
2 Almond Oil, sweet 10%
3 Coconut Oil, 76 deg 15%
4 Cocoa Butter 5%
5 Jojoba Oil 10%
6 Castor Oil 7%
7 Avocado Oil 10%

Totals 100 2 32 907.184

Is this what I use for lye and water? That is what the soapcalc said

Ingredient Pounds Ounces Grams
Water 0.511 8.179 231.871

Lye - NaOH 0.252 4.028 114.205

Hardness 25
Cleansing 10
Conditioning 63
Bubbly 16
Creamy 21

For tea tree oil, you might start at .7 oz PPO and see how you like it. I've used as little as .5 oz PPO and the scent still comes through nicely but I don't like super strongly scented soaps.

The one time I used coconut milk for most of the liquid, it DOSsed within 4-5 weeks and smelled horribly rancid. It was 100% coconut oil, so I'm assuming since CO is so stable. the coconut milk went rancid. Be interested in others' experiences with coconut milk.

Good luck on your new soaping adventures!

BakingNana said:
The one time I used coconut milk for most of the liquid, it DOSsed within 4-5 weeks and smelled horribly rancid. It was 100% coconut oil, so I'm assuming since CO is so stable. the coconut milk went rancid. Be interested in others' experiences with coconut milk.

Good luck on your new soaping adventures!

Hmmm I wondered wheather the high superfat in 100% coconut would make a bar with coconut milk prone to DOS