Qualities that oils add to a soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

David Dorman

Reaction score
I have been making soap on and off for the last 10 years. Mostly hot process. This question is concerning hot process soap where superfatting would be done after the cook and is controllable.

When charts and calculators state "qualities" that a particular type of oil adds to a soap, is that quality the oil has
A. before saponification
B. after saponification
C. qualities of the unsaponified oils remaining in the recipe (from superfatting if there is any in the recipe)
D. qualities of the unsaponifiables of an oil remaining in the recipe

What I am trying to learn is, if you are going to add ingredients to enhance lather, conditioning and hardness, does it really matter what your base oils are. Aren't most base oils consumed by the lye and they are just soap. Where do the qualities of the individual oils of the recipe come from?

It’s determined by the fatty acids in the oil. Lauric, myristic, oleic, etc. The hardness/conditioning/etc numbers reflect the fatty acid profile of the oils selected. Each fatty acid contributes something to the finished soap.

ETA yes it does matter what your base oils are. A coconut oil soap that is high in lauric and myristic acids will not last as long as a balanced soap with say palm that is high in stearic and palmitic acids.

Thanks.
So what you are saying is that the qualities are from the saponified oil? So then, adding a particular oil as superfat in hp after the cook would result in a different quality?