Qestions about possibly lye-heavy soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi! May I please get some help figuring out if a batch of soap I made is safe to use or too lye-heavy to use? I am still new to soapmaking and this was my 14th batch (using various recipes) and this was the first time I tried out this recipe.

Here is the recipe I formulated and used:
  • 8.83 oz Coconut Oil (35%)
  • 8.83 oz olive Oil (35%)
  • 3.6 oz Canola Oil (15%)
  • 2.4 oz Shea Butter (10%)
  • 1.2 oz Castor Oil (5%)
  • 8.83 oz Distilled Water
  • 3.43 oz Sodium Hydroxide
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon Sodium Lactate
  • 3 ml Lemongrass Essential Oil
  • 3 ml Rosemarry Essential Oil

I added sodium lactate in an attempt to make hard and long-lasting soap without palm oil or animal fat. It was my first attempt to use sodium lactate. I added it to my lye water once the temperature came down to 100F.

I added the sodium lactate-added lye water to the oils when the lye water and oils were both 100F.

When I started mixing the lye water and oils with a stick blender, the batter immediately got very thick right around the stick blender and the thick batter stuck to it. So I stopped using the stick blender and started hand-mixing the batter with a whisk. The thickened batter that had stuck to the stick blender seemed to have gotten blended well into the rest of the batter after being hand-whisked. When the overall batter was at medium trace, I added the essential oils and whisked just a bit more to blend them in.

I poured the batter in individual flower-shaped molds placed in a cardboard box, closed the cover, wrapped it in a blanket and let it rest for 24 hours.