Preservative confusion...of course-

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SimplyE

Reaction score
I am trying to figure out if certain preservatives are used for certain products. It seems like some are not for lips, and only one is. I am confused :? :?:

Is there one that you can use for all lotions, creams, lip stuff, salt/sugar scrubs, butters or does it really depend on what the product is? I have looked at

Germaben II
Germaben II E
LiquaPar
PhenoNip
Germall
Optiphen

According to WSP, LiquaPar is the only one able to be used for lips. Some are for use with water and without. I assume lotions.

What do you prefer???

I am sure this has been asked before, but I am coming up dunce at the moment :oops:

Thanks!

I have chosen liquid germall plus as my preservative. I have only started to use it tho so I have no real long term experience with it.

I chose it because you only need 0.1-0.5% in your solution and from what I could find its a fairly wide spectrum preservative.

I'll be interested to hear what other people's experience is too.

There is no single preservative that will protect everything you make. You'll need to do some research on the different preservatives & which type you need for each of your products.

If you are going to have water in a product, or the possibility that water can be introduced into a product, you want an antimicrobial, but you also want a preservative that will kill mold, mildew & yeast.

For oil/butter based products like message oils, body butters, etc, preservatives aren't needed. In that case, you need an antioxident so they don't go rancid so quickly.

The Southern Soapers Classes yahoo group did a class on preservatives. If you become a member of that group, you'll have access to the .pdf files from the class. Here's the group's home page:
http://tinyurl.com/4rxnxv
In the files sections is a folder called: