Preparing for the Holidays

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I_like_melts

Reaction score
I'm just curious as to how the holidays fare for other businesses. How soon do you start preparing?

This is my first year in business, so I am not sure what to expect. I started working on my fall stock, but sales have been "ok" so far (BUT it is only august). I'm steering away from soaps and focusing almost entirely on wax, so I'm thinking I need to buy my holiday supplies mid-late September and get them out mid-October?

I'm also expecting to only sell online, I was planning on doing events this summer but anxiety :rolleyes: So, I have to put that off a bit longer.

I start making my product for the "busy" holiday season, January. That way, candles, or soap, they have a nice long cure going on. I feel if I am not stocked or finished making for the holiday's by mid August, to early September that it's just not going to get made for that holiday season.

Most suppliers start getting super busy end of september, so processing and shipping times are longer, so you may want to start ordering now to avoid the rush. Even though I have a website, and I get hits on it, I rarely get orders, even during the busy season, mainly because of my own laziness and not keeping it up, but the events I sell at by the end of the last event I do, I am nearly if not completely, sold out of all my stock and always have to start over anyway.

I start making my product for the "busy" holiday season, January. That way, candles, or soap, they have a nice long cure going on. I feel if I am not stocked or finished making for the holiday's by mid August, to early September that it's just not going to get made for that holiday season.