pomegranate CP bar soap acting STRANGE! Help needed!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GalileeGirl

Reaction score
Hello everyone!
I hope you are having an amazing day!
About myself..Im fairly new to this world of soap. my dream is to come up with my own recipes!
I wanted to make an OO soap with some CO.
I read that high % of Olive takes a long time to trace. And the higher lye concentration % is, the faster is comes to trace. - I could be wrong, but this is what I understood from Elly's Everyday soap making YouTube channel .
I wanted to color it too, so I mixed some red clay\water mix. (1 Tablespoon per pound soap).
So after researching, I came up with this:
Superfat: 6%
lye concentration: 42%
OO 90%
CO 10%

1) I mixed my oils and warmed them.
2) Mixed my water+ pomegranate ice cubes and my lye - the mixture turned green, then a nice tangerine color.
3) Once everything is room temp, I mix my lye into the oils and started TB and added my clay .
4) I came to trace after just under 20 Sec. which got me thinking.. why???
5) I poured into mold, covered with heavy towels and waited
I felt the towels and they were nice and worm, I thought it was going through gel phase.
checked the next morning it was as hard as a rock. I tried to cut it and it crumbled!

I know that OO soap needs time to harden before unmolding, but this one hardens in no time...

I made another bar the same way just got ride of the clay - thinking that was the problem.
But it too has crumbled.

I would love for some help!
Im here to learn!!