Please help my soap is too soft

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chyeiti

Reaction score
Hii

Need help.
I am new to soap making. Recently I made soap with
Coconut oil 7.5 oz
Olive oil 25 oz
Castor oil 1 oz
1.5 oz lemongrass essential oil.
I added about 5 grams of citric acid and bars came out of mold quite easily but bars are tooo soft.

You have to neutralise CA with more sodium hydroxide or it will produce soft soap.

Read DeeAnna’s tutorials on adding CA.
https://classicbells.com/soap/soapyStuff.html

If you used the default lye concentration in your soap calculator then you might have used too much water and the soap will be softer for longer. After it cures it should be fine.

Last edited:
Also, how much NaOH and water did you use? Any other additives? What did you do to the molded soap while it saponified?

A list of the oils is a good start, but we need to know all of the recipe and your method to be able to help. :)

Thank you!
penelopejane and DeeAnna
I nutralise CA with additional sodium hydroxide. Instead of 4.82 oz I added 5.1 oz of NaoH and I also added 1 tsp of salt to water before mixing NaoH. I used 9.90 oz of distilled water. As a result soap came out quickly but its too soft.

Last edited:
Your numbers look okay -- not too much water for this kind of recipe, about the right amount of NaOH.

A caution -- Your use of grams for the citric acid and ounces for everything else might get you in trouble someday. I'd stick with one set of units (grams!) for everything, if you want my opinion.

My guess is that your soap did not get warm enough during saponification. The soap should improve with time. If you want to help it along, you can warm it in the oven. Here's how I do it -- https://classicbells.com/soap/cpopAfterTheFact.html

DeeAnna Thank you !