Playing around with lard

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arthur Dent

Reaction score
I'm pretty new at this, have been soaping a little over a year. All the recent threads about lard soap got me interested in high lard soaps, so I scoured the archives for suitable recipes to try.
I must give a big "Thank You" to everyone who posts recipes on here for us new folks to try out, it really is a big help.
(yes, I do run everything through SoapCalc)

So about a month ago I made a 2lb batch of this:
(found in the archives, not my own creation)

Lard 75%
Olive oil 10%
Coconut oil 10%
Castor oil 5%

Superfat at 7% and water at 33% as I usually do.

After a month cure this is now pretty good. Nice creamy lather and nice feel, but low on bubbles. I will of course give it another couple of weeks to see how much difference that makes.

On the same day I also made a 2lb test batch of this:
(found in the archives, not my own creation)

Lard 75%
Coconut oil 20%
Castor oil 5%

Superfat at 8% and water at 33% as usual.

I should have superfatted at 7% for a more honest comparison to the first batch. My bad.

After a month cure this is really good! Nice creamy lather, and great bubbles. This is my new favorite.
It's interesting how the extra 10% of coconut oil made such a big difference in the bubbles. I assume that it was the extra coconut oil and not the exclusion of the olive oil that made the difference, yes?

So far I am making plain unscented and uncolored soaps, still getting the hang of things.