Piping hot!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wearytraveler

Reaction score
I have CPOP'ed my batches since I started making soap last year (with the exception of the 2 HP batches I made) but this weekend I'd like to try my hand a batch of round soap and I bought a PVC pipe that I'll cut to about 15" and a flat cap for the bottom. I'm no PVC expert by any means but I'm pretty sure that the temp limits for PVC is 140-ish so CPOPing this might be problematic.
I am thinking that I can set up a hot air room heater in a room and set the temp to about 80 and leave the mold sitting in front of it for a few hours in order to force gel. Does anyone see any issues with this? I just want to ensure this goes through gel.

That might work but I'm not sure it'll completely go through gel with air temp at 80. I'd be more inclined to wrap the pipe in a heating pad, then wrap that with towels or a blanket. If you're doing CP you'll have to keep the pipe upright so I'd wrap the whole thing tightly. It still won't guarantee it'll go all the way through gel though.

I have CPOP'ed my batches since I started making soap last year (with the exception of the 2 HP batches I made) but this weekend I'd like to try my hand a batch of round soap and I bought a PVC pipe that I'll cut to about 15" and a flat cap for the bottom. I'm no PVC expert by any means but I'm pretty sure that the temp limits for PVC is 140-ish so CPOPing this might be problematic.
I am thinking that I can set up a hot air room heater in a room and set the temp to about 80 and leave the mold sitting in front of it for a few hours in order to force gel. Does anyone see any issues with this? I just want to ensure this goes through gel.