Pine tar soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jsacc106

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I’m still very new to soap making and have one hurdle I still struggle with and that’s a pine tar soap. I made one successful batch that came to trace fairly slowly and allowed me to pour it nicely. The last two batches I made, both immediately seized up after adding the lye water and I had to wait until gelling before I could properly mix and mold. My question is, what tips and pointers do you guys have for pine tar recipes? I’m not looking for a recipe to be reviewed, but just some points or advice on how a good pine tar soap is made, or if anyone has a great recipe they don’t mind sharing. I also found after the soap dries and I unmold it, there tends to be white chunks in it. Almost as if some of the oils hardened before the rest. Anyone else experience this? Thanks for your time!

Pine tar is the only recipe I make exclusively using the hot-process method, as this has completely eliminated any seizure issues for me. Plus I really like the ‘primitive’ look of the bars using this method.

First, make sure your pine tar is 100% pine tar. Should say on the jar. There is another pine-tar-like product (whose name escapes me) that resembles pine tar but doesn't work for soaping.

Second, use a recipe full of slow-tracing oils. My standard recipe uses lard so I just use my standard recipe. I think a pine tar soap with palm and tallow might be challenging.

I add lavender essential oil to mine, which some soapers think slows trace. Plus the scent goes well with pine tar.

Soap cool - 90-100 degrees or soap.

Bump up your water a bit.