Persimmon soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SmockingRN

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to this website and to soapmaking, too. Have really enjoyed reading all the forums! I have a question about Mirai Japanese persimmon soap, advertised to remove tough body odors, esp aging odor related to a body oil called nonenol??? I never heard of nonenol, but as a nurse I am familiar with age related B.O. Anyway, this soap costs $16 for a 3.5 oz. bar. I wondered about this...The website goes into a lot of detail about Japanese expertise in cleanliness, even going so far as to advise on how to bathe. I am a dyed in the wool skeptic about most pseudo-scientific claims...does anyone here know if this persimmon soap is a real help?

I've also read about persimmon soap in helping to remove old people smell. If I remember right, it uses persimmon leaves.

I did make soap with persimmon fruit but I used a awful scent with it and ended up having to throw it.

@Martha
Its been a few years since I read about this but as we age, our skin produces more and more of a certain chemical. This chemical has a unpleasant smell and is resistant to removal with regular cleansers.

Can you include a link to what you read? Is this an explanation of “old people smell”? :lol:
I tried to add a link but got a message saying it might be spam? The company is Mirai Clinical and it will come up in a search for persimmon soap.

I tried to add a link but got a message saying it might be spam? The company is Mirai Clinical and it will come up in a search for persimmon soap.
I took a peek, but now want to read more about nonenal. How have I never heard that this was a real thing? Now I want to know the answer too!

Last edited:
https://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0038110