Paste Will Not Go Into Taffy

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jennescence

Reaction score
This is my very first time making liquid soap paste. The recipe I used was.

10.40 oz Glycerin
3.48 KOH 90%

4 oz coconut oil
12 oz Olive oil

I melted my oils in my crock pot. Mixed my koh into my hot glycerine until dissolved. Combined the 2 and stick blended until trace. After that I put the lid on and set to low. Every 30 minutes I went back to blend again. I got to that stage where tiny bubbles were floating in the air. The problem is....it won't move past thick trace. No taffy. It's been 6 hours with no changes. I've finally turned off the heat, put the lid on and walked away. Idk where I went wrong or what to do from here. The recipe I used was from a YouTube video and hers became taffy very very quickly. Here's what it looks like now.

Attachments

• 20210327_115046.jpg
    20210327_115046.jpg
    152.7 KB · Views: 14
This is my very first time making liquid soap paste. The recipe I used was.

10.40 oz Glycerin
3.48 KOH 90%

4 oz coconut oil
12 oz Olive oil

I melted my oils in my crock pot. Mixed my koh into my hot glycerine until dissolved. Combined the 2 and stick blended until trace. After that I put the lid on and set to low. Every 30 minutes I went back to blend again. I got to that stage where tiny bubbles were floating in the air. The problem is....it won't move past thick trace. No taffy. It's been 6 hours with no changes. I've finally turned off the heat, put the lid on and walked away. Idk where I went wrong or what to do from here. The recipe I used was from a YouTube video and hers became taffy very very quickly. Here's what it looks like now.
Beneath that layer of foam, is the mixture clear? Is it all that amber foamy color or clear beneath?
If clear, your batch should be fully saponifed. From the look of your spatula I see clear paste.